Online Classes

28th February, 2012 - Posted by Kharma - No Comments

Online Classes

Our goal is to offer each of the three required MCC courses (e.g. Polity, Queer History, and Sexuality Studies) twice per calendar year.  Details on this page will be added as they are confirmed, so check back often.  Our attempt is to give you as much information as possible so that you can plan in advance.

Registration will open at least one month prior to each course.  (Click here for our refund policy.)  Please contact us if you have any questions.

MCC Polity
This course will consider the history, structure, and governance of Metropolitan Community Churches (MCC) as well as the values, theologies, and cultures that have shaped MCC. This will be explored in the larger context of LGBTQ liberation movements and the global religious context. 

First Half of 2015

Dates: 28 April – 16 June
Note: This is a hybrid course where most work is self-paced.  There will be two “live” 90 minute sessions on Tuesday 28 April and 9 June at 8:00 pm GMT/UTC (4:00 pm EDT)
Instructor: Rev. Terri Echelbarger
REGISTER NOW!

Second Half of 2015

Dates: 6 August – 24 September
Note: This is a hybrid course where most work is self-paced. There will be two “live” 90 minute sessions on Thursdays 6 August and 17 September at 5:00 pm GMT/UTC (1:00 pm EDT)
Instructor: Rev. Terri Echelbarger
REGISTER NOW!

Queer History
This course will give an overview of the history of GLBTQ people from the ancient Western world, through pre-industrial and modern cultures, to contemporary global situations. Particular emphasis will be placed on understanding the changing social constructions of sexuality and gender, and on the historic roots of contemporary religious, social, and political realities.

First Half of 2015

Dates: Saturdays 3 January – 7 February 2015
Virtual Class Meets Live 3:30 – 5:00 pm EST (8:30 – 10:00 pm GMT/UTC)
Instructor: Rev. Kelby Harrison
REGISTER NOW!

Second Half of 2015

Dates: Thursdays, 1 October – 5 November 2015
Virtual Class Meets Live from 5:00 – 6:30 pm EST (9:00 – 10:30 pm GMT/UTC; note daylight savings time will occur during this course so there will be a shift in GMT/UTC)
Instructor: Rev. Dr. Thomas Bohache
REGISTER NOW!

Sexuality Studies
This course provides students with basic information about human sexuality and offers an opportunity to become more comfortable talking about a variety of sexual issues.  Students will also have an opportunity to assess the sexual health of oneself, professional ministry, and location of ministry, including preventing misconduct and sexual abuse.  The course includes teachings/texts about sexuality from tradition, as well as denominational and congregational policies.  Students will reflect theologically on the integration of sexuality and spirituality, and examine the impact of race, class, gender, and heterosexism on issues of sexuality in  ministry.

Second Half of 2014

Dates: Saturdays, 18 October – 20 November 2014
Virtual Class Meets Live from 2:00 – 3:30 pm EST (6:00 – 7:30 pm GMT/UTC; note daylight savings time occurs during the course so there will be a shift in GMT/UTC)
Instructor: Rev. Kelby Harrison
REGISTER NOW!

First Half of 2015

Dates: Fridays/Saturdays 13/14 February through 20/21 March 2015 (specific time/date determined by participants)
Instructor: Rev. Rachelle Brown
REGISTER NOW!

Second Half of 2015

Dates: Saturdays, 17 October – 21 November 2015
Virtual Class Meets Live from 2:00 – 3:30 pm EST (6:00 – 7:30 pm GMT/UTC; note daylight savings time occurs during the course so there will be a shift in GMT/UTC)
Instructor: Rev. Kelby Harrison
REGISTER NOW!